Gala 2013

The New York Musical Theatre Festival
10th Anniversary Gala

honoring Billy Porter

and celebrating 10 years of creating and nurturing new musical theatre
under the leadership of NYMF Co-Founder Isaac Robert Hurwitz


On Sunday, November 10, 2013, 
The New York Musical Theatre Festival 10th Anniversary Gala honored Tony Award® winner Billy Porter (Kinky Boots, Miss SaigonFive Guys Named Moe, Grease, dir. Twilight In Manchego - NYMF '08), and celebrated 10 years of creating and nurturing new musical theatre under the leadership of NYMF Co-Founder Isaac Robert Hurwitz. NYMF Board member Linda D'Onofrio served as the event's chair.

Held at the gorgeous Hudson Theatre, The NYMF 10th Anniversary Gala included special tributes and unforgettable performances from Broadway stars.

Hosted by Susan Blackwell ([title of show]), with appearances by Lillias White (Fela!The Life, Dreamgirls), Christian Borle ("Smash", Peter and the Starcatcher), Beth Leavel (The Drowsy Chaperone), Leslie Odom, Jr. (Leap of Faith), Telly Leung (Rent, "Glee"), Heidi Blickenstaff ([title of show]), Jeremy Shamos (Glengarry Glen Ross), Christopher Fitzgerald (The Merchant of VeniceFinian's Rainbow), Hunter Bell ([title of show]), Larry Pressgrove ([title of show]), Jeremy Kushnier (Jersey Boys), Tyler Maynard (Mary PoppinsMamma Mia), Steve Rosen (Spamalot), Dave Rossmer (Peter and the Starcatcher) and many more!

"Billy Porter is one of the rare individuals whose talent truly excels in any medium," said Dan Markley, Executive Director & Producer of The New York Musical Theatre Festival. "Billy's work as a director was a highlight of our 2008 Festival, and on our 10th Anniversary, we are thrilled to honor this multi-talented artist for his many contributions to the theatre."

If you were unable to attend but would still like to support the future of NYMF, please call (212) 664-0979, ext. 12. 

Each November, NYMF closes its season with a gala celebrating the year's artistic triumphs and honoring an individual or company whose work has contributed to the continued vitality of musical theatre. 

Held at the beautiful Hudson Theatre, a former Broadway theater now part of the Millennium Hotel in Times Square, this one of a kind event is attended by some 300 musical theatre lovers, Broadway artists, and leading members of the theatre industry.

The evening begins with a cocktail reception and silent auction, in which guests are treated to a gourmet meal and a star-studded show dedicated to the evening's honorees, with performances by major artists celebrating their achievements. Following the show, VIP guests join the honorees and artists for an exclusive after-party.

Past NYMF honorees have included Tony Nominee Kelli O'Hara, Broadway legend Chita Rivera, NBC "Smash" creators Neil Meron & Craig Zadan, GRAMMY® Award-winning Sh-K-Boom Records, NYC television news program NY1 On Stage, Broadway producers Barry & Fran Weissler, Kevin McCollum, and Robyn Goodman.