NYMF 2014 Awards for Excellence Winners Announced

The New York Musical Theatre Festival announced the 2014 Awards for Excellence winners at the Closing Night Celebration and Awards Ceremony on July 27, 2014 at Arena Event Space.






Excellence in Writing (Music)
Douglas J. Cohen, The Gig

Honorable Mention
Cardozie Jones & Sean Willis, Madame Infamy

Excellence in Writing (Lyrics)
Douglas J. Cohen, The Gig

Honorable Mention
Becca Anderson & Dan Marshall, Academia Nuts

Excellence in Writing (Book)
Rick Kunzi & Justin Zeppa, Bayonets of Angst

Honorable Mention
Becca Anderson & Dan Marshall, Academia Nuts

Excellence in Direction
Thomas Caruso, Academia Nuts

Honorable Mentions
Igor Goldin, The Gig
Michelle Tattenbaum, Mother Jones and the Children’s Crusade

Excellence in Choreography
Jason Sparks, Propaganda! The Musical
Staś Kmieć, The Mapmaker’s Opera

Honorable Mention
Jeffry Denman, Valueville

Excellence in Overall Design
The Snow Queen
Frances Nelson McSherry, Costume Design; David Lee Cuthbert, Lighting Design/Projection Design, Haddon Kime & Rick Lombardo, Sound Design

Honorable Mention
Bayonets of Angst
Seth Easter, Scenic Design; Candida K. Nichols, Costume Design; Zach Blane, Lighting Design; Harrison Adams, Sound Design

Outstanding Orchestrations or Arrangements
Michael Gibson, The Gig

Honorable Mention
Mark Buys, The Mapmaker’s Opera

Outstanding Musical Direction
Jonathan Smith, The Gig

Honorable Mention
Anna Ebbesen and Dolores Duran-Cefalu, The Snow Queen

Outstanding Ensemble Performance
Bayonets of Angst
Michael Abbott Jr., Ryan Andes, Herndon Lackey, Ian Lowe, Brian Charles Rooney, J. Robert Spencer, Paul Whitty

Honorable Mention
The Gig
Stephen Berger, Larry Cahn, Doug Eskew, Kate Fahrner, Nick Gaswirth, Michael Minarik, Kevin Pariseau, Dee Roscioli, Steve Routman, Bruce Sabath, Donna Vivino


Outstanding Individual Performances

  • Larry Cahn, The Gig
  • Rachel Dunham, Oprahfication
  • Alexis Fishman, Der Gelbe Stern (The Yellow Star)
  • Alyse Alan Louis, Academia Nuts
  • Kenita Miller, Propaganda! The Musical
  • Erin Leigh Peck, Mr. Confidential
  • Brian Charles Rooney, Bayonets of Angst
  • Jennifer Simard, Academia Nuts
  • J. Robert Spencer, Bayonets of Angst
  • Lynne Wintersteller, Mother Jones and the Children’s Crusade

Play-by-Play Best New Musical Award
Academia Nuts
Book and Lyrics by Becca Anderson & Dan Marshall; Music by Julian Blackmore


Best of Fest Audience Prize
Book by Jacey Powers & Dan Wolpow; Music by Adam Spiegel; Lyrics by Dan Wolpow; Additional Story by Adam Spiegel

First Runner-Up
Book, Music, and Lyrics by Jessy Brouillard

Second Runner-Up
Mother Jones and the Children's Crusade
Book, Music, and Lyrics by Cheryl E. Kemeny